Tecomate Wildlife Systems
Shop Tecomate

Search Tecomate.com


Advanced Search

Follow Us On:

Tecomate on Facebook Tecomate on Twitter Tecomate on Instagram Tecomate on YouTube Tecomate on LinkedIn


Blogs, Resources & Articles

Most recent entries

Join our Mailing List

Free Tecomate Email Newsletter Sign-up
Monday, November 28, 2016
Aging White-Tailed Deer on the Hoof - Part II
Photo by Hardy Jackson
Photo By Hardy Jackson

Last week we discussed the scientific approach of aging of deer on the hoof. This week we focus on characteristics that will help you age deer in the field. 

The Best Characteristics For Aging Deer On The Hoof Are…
Results of statistical tests indicated that the single best antler characteristic to use for aging bucks on the hoof was gross B&C score.  Overall antler size is the best method for aging live bucks, contrary to what I was mistakenly told when I first moved to Texas.  Accurate field judgment of gross B&C score can become nearly instantaneous with practice.  In fact, a lot of south Texas hunters are already very adept at estimating antler size because they routinely estimate this before harvesting a buck anyway.

{read more}

Posted by Dr. Mickey W. Hellickson on 11/28 at 10:09 AM
Featured ArticlesPermalink

Bucks of Tecomate Episode – Patience Pays

Bucks of Tecomate Episode – Patience Pays
This Kansas hunt is Jordan Shipley’s hardest whitetail hunt to date. His patience pays off in the end with a BIG Kansas buck as his reward!
Airings
Thursday, December 1, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, December 2, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, December 2, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, December 3, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, December 4, 2016 at 12:30am EST

{read more}

Posted by Tecomate Wildlife Systems on 11/28 at 09:59 AM
Tecomate TelevisionPermalink

Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Aging White-Tailed Deer on the Hoof - Part I
Photo by Hardy Jackson
Photo By Hardy Jackson

Have you ever wondered what characteristics are best for aging deer on the hoof?  When I was growing up in the Midwest, I was mistakenly told that the number of antler points also told you the buck’s age.  If the buck was an 8-pointer for example, he was eight years old.  Unfortunately, before I knew anything about aging deer on-the-hoof, I mistakenly killed a 13-point buck in Iowa that still had his milk teeth - he was only one-and-a-half years old!  Luckily, it didn’t take me long to figure out that the number of antler points had little to do with age. 

After moving to south Texas, I was again told false information about aging deer on-the-hoof.  This time I was mistakenly told that you could not accurately age a buck by the overall size of his rack.  Antler size, as you will soon learn, is the best characteristic to use for aging bucks on-the-hoof.  In fact, it is possible to get a nearly instant estimate of the appropriate age class (i.e., young, middle, or mature) to place a buck based on only antler size.

{read more}

Posted by Dr. Mickey W. Hellickson on 11/22 at 10:09 AM
Featured ArticlesPermalink

Thursday, August 04, 2016
Why Food Plots?

Tecomate - Consulting and Food Plot Services

Food Plots Have Become The Hot Topic In Deer Management, But Do Plots Really Work And How Do Plots Stack Up To Natural Habitat Management And Direct Feeding? Let’s See.

The latest buzz in the deer-hunting world seems to revolve around the impact of nutritional management, particularly using food plots, on the number and size of deer a tract of land can produce. Obviously, that impact will vary by program and management intensity. But here, I want to use a simple comparison to illustrate the relative impact of supplemental (direct) feeding and food plots on the nutritional plane, thus on deer numbers and quality. I do not hold out the following numbers to be absolute; rather, they are intended to illustrate the relative nutritional impact of supplemental feeding over natural habitat and of food plots over supplemental feeding. Because of limited space, I will not try to explain every assumption and the reasoning behind it, but I’ve found these numbers to represent a fairly accurate picture of what goes on under these programs.

{read more}

Posted by David Morris on 08/04 at 02:45 PM
Food Plot ManagementPermalink

Choosing The Right Plants For Your Plots

It would be hard to imagine a better food plot than a really good stand of Tecomate Lablab, but does that mean Lablab is always the best food plot choice? No, it does not! Different plants do different things. You have to “prescribe” the right thing for the job. Let’s see what goes into that.

First, when buying seed, consider value, not just price. Don’t be fooled by bag size. Bigger is not necessarily better. Some of the best wildlife plantings, like clovers and chicory, come in small bags and have very low planting rates. An 8-pound bag of Tecomate Monster Mix, which consists of clover and chicory, for instance, plants a full acre. It would take 130 pounds of oats to do plant that same acre! Think in terms of cost/acre not cost/bag or cost/pound. Some big, cheap bags of seed aren’t bargains at all when you consider what how much it takes to plant an acre and what you really get.

{read more}

Posted by David Morris on 08/04 at 02:46 PM
Featured Articles Food Plot ManagementPermalink

Thursday, June 30, 2016
Bucks of Tecomate Schedule

Bucks of Tecomate – 2016 Summer/Fall TV Schedule
Air Times:
Thursday (new episode) 6:30pm EST
Friday (repeat) 2:00am EST
Friday (repeat) 1:30pm EST
Saturday (repeat) 10:30am EST
Sunday (repeat) 12:30am EST

Episode 501 - Muley Madness
David Morris gets up close and personal with some BIG mule deer in the vast plains of Wyoming.
Airings
Thursday, June 30, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, July 1, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, July 1, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday 10:30am EST
Sunday 12:30am EST


Episode 502 - Pursuit of the Brush Country Behemoth
Hardy Jackson has been waiting for this moment for 6½ years. In this episode he’s after a behemoth buck on his ranch in South Texas.
Airings
Thursday, July 7, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, July 8, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, July 8, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday 10:30am EST
Sunday 12:30am EST

Episode 503 - Patience Pays
This Kansas hunt is Jordan Shipley’s hardest whitetail hunt to date. His patience pays off in the end with a BIG Kansas buck as his reward!
Airings
Thursday, July 14, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, July 15, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, July 15, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday 10:30am EST
Sunday 12:30am EST

Episode 504 - Three Cheers for Kansas Giants
The Tecomate crew are in Kansas for opening muzzleloader season. With three hunters and lots of bucks, this is an action-packed episode!
Airings
Thursday, July 21, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, July 22, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, July 22, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday 10:30am EST
Sunday 12:30am EST

Episode 505 - Sooner State Showdown
David Morris makes his second trip to Oklahoma in search of a BIG Sooner State buck.
Airings
Thursday, July 28, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, July 29, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, July 29, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday 10:30am EST
Sunday 12:30am EST

Episode 506 - Big Bucks and Leupold Crosshairs
Jordan Shipley hosts Leupold’s Bruce Pettit at Tecomate’s famed La Perla Ranch.
Airings
Thursday, August 4, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, August 5, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, August 5, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturda, August 6, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, August 7, 2016 at 12:30am EST

Episode 507 - Ladies Day Out
Sunny Shipley and Amy Deane enjoy ladies day out at the Braba Ranch in South Texas. With the rut kicking off, this episode is full of BIG BUCK action!
Airings
Thursday, August 11, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, August 12, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, August 12, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, August 13, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, August 14, 2016 at 12:30am EST

Episode 508 - Close Encounters of the Giant Kind
Jordan Shipley travels to South Texas in search of a BIG buck.
Airings
Thursday, August 18, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, August 19, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, August 19, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, August 20, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, August 21, 2016 at 12:30am EST

Episode 509 - Republican River Rattlefest
David Morris rattles in an awesome Nebraska buck.
Airings
Thursday, August 25, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, August 26, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, August 26, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, August 27, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, August 28, 2016 at 12:30am EST

Episode 510 - Bugling Bulls in Paradise
Jordan Shipley is in scenic Paradise Valley, Montana in hopes of killing his very first bugling elk with his bow.
Airings
Thursday, September 1, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, September 2, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, September 2, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, September 3, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, September 4, 2016 at 12:30am EST


Episode 501 - Muley Madness
David Morris gets up close and personal with some BIG mule deer in the vast plains of Wyoming.
Airings
Thursday, September 8, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, September 9, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, September 9, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, September 10, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, September 11, 2016 at 12:30am EST

Episode 501 - Pursuit of the Brush Country Behemoth
Hardy Jackson has been waiting for this moment for 6½ years. In this episode he’s after a behemoth buck on his ranch in South Texas.
Airings
Thursday, September 15, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, September 16, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, September 16, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, September 17, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, September 18, 2016 at 12:30am EST

Episode 503 - Patience Pays
This Kansas hunt is Jordan Shipley’s hardest whitetail hunt to date. His patience pays off in the end with a BIG Kansas buck as his reward!
Airings
Thursday, September 22, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, September 23, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, September 23, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, September 24, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, September 25, 2016 at 12:30am EST

Episode 504 - Three Cheers for Kansas Giants
The Tecomate crew are in Kansas for opening muzzleloader season. With three hunters and lots of bucks, this is an action-packed episode!
Airings
Thursday, September 29, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, September 30, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, September 30, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, October 1, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, October 2, 2016 at 12:30am EST

Episode 505 - Sooner State Showdown
David Morris makes his second trip to Oklahoma in search of a BIG Sooner State buck.
Airings
Thursday, October 6, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, October 7, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, October 7, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, October 8, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, October 9, 2016 at 12:30am EST

Episode 506 - Big Bucks and Leupold Crosshairs
Jordan Shipley hosts Leupold’s Bruce Pettit at Tecomate’s famed La Perla Ranch.
Airings
Thursday, October 13, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, October 14, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, October 14, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, October 15, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, October 16, 2016 at 12:30am EST

Episode 507 - Ladies Day Out
Sunny Shipley and Amy Deane enjoy ladies day out at the Braba Ranch in South Texas. With the rut kicking off, this episode is full of BIG BUCK action!
Airings
Thursday, October 20, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, October 21, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, October 21, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, October 22, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, October 23, 2016 at 12:30am EST

Episode 508 - Close Encounters of the Giant Kind
Jordan Shipley travels to South Texas in search of a BIG buck.
Airings
Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, October 28, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, October 28, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, October 29, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, October 30, 2016 at 12:30am EST

Episode 509 - Republican River Rattlefest
David Morris rattles in an awesome Nebraska buck.
Airings
Thursday, November 3, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, November 4, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, November 4, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, November 5, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, November 6, 2016 at 12:30am EST

Episode 510 - Bugling Bulls in Paradise
Jordan Shipley is in scenic Paradise Valley, Montana in hopes of killing his very first bugling elk with his bow.
Airings
Thursday, November 10, 2016 at 6:30 pm EST
Friday, November 11, 2016 at 2:00 am EST
Friday, November 11, 2016 at 1:30 pm EST
Saturday, November 12, 2016 at 10:30am EST
Sunday, November 13, 2016 at 12:30am EST

 

{read more}

Posted by Tecomate Wildlife Systems on 06/30 at 05:50 PM
Tecomate TelevisionPermalink

Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Laying Out Your Food Plots - Part II

Tecomate

Distribution And Size
Ok, you have a handle on the total acreage of food plots needed, but how many plots do you need, what size should they be and where should they go. You can’t really answer any of these questions without giving thought to the others since they’re all related and interdependent. The number of plots depends in part on what size they are, and vice versa. And, in areas with limited tillable land, the distribution of the tillable land and how much of it there is at each site will go along way in determining both the number and size of food plots. Still, there are ways to come to logical decisions.

{read more}

Posted by David Morris on 06/22 at 04:43 PM
Featured Articles Food Plot ManagementPermalink

Thursday, June 02, 2016
Laying Out Your Food Plots - Part I

Tecomate - Consulting and Food Plot Services

You like the idea of more and bigger deer on your property, and you’ve become convinced that food plots can help get you there. You’re ready to commit the time and resources necessary to get into an agricultural-based food-source management program, the kind that’ll significantly enhance the nutritional plane of the property, not just attract deer to a field. In short, you’re ready to start “farming for deer” so you can get the most from your land, investment and deer hunting. Now what?

{read more}

Posted by David Morris on 06/02 at 04:42 PM
Featured Articles Food Plot ManagementPermalink

Page 1 of 64 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »


© Copyright 2006- Tecomate® Wildlife Systems, LLC - Privacy Policy
Website Design & Development by Cedar Hills Media & Marketing